Highlights in Argentina

Geography of Argentina

Argentina is located in the Southern part of South America. It shares borders with Bolivia in the North, Paraguay north-east, Brazil in the East, Uruguay south-east and Chile in the West. Its capital is Buenos Aires.
The county’s name is derived from the Latin word argentum, which means silver, because the Spanish conquerors were hoping to find precious metals in that place, when they arrived. Until the end of the Spanish colonial era in 1816 Argentina was part of the Spanish kingdom. Covering an area of 2.8 km² Argentina is the eighth largest country of the world and the fourth largest country of the American continent. Due to its size it covers different climate and vegetation zones.


Argentina's most famous mountains are the Andes, which extend from North to South, along the Chilean border. Many mountains in this area count a height of more than 6000 m. The highest mountain is called Aconcagua (7000 m).

Travel Tips and Trivia for Argentina

Climate in Argentina

Argentina covers nearly all existing climate zones. The North is tropical, but close to the Andes rather dry, the center is more subtropical or moderate and the South, around Patagonia, can be characterized by a cold and, depending on the place, dry or humid climate.

Flora and Fauna in Argentina

Due to its different climate zones Argentina supports a rich variety regarding flora and fauna. In the tropical part in the North of the country there are predominantly rosewoods, palms, guaiacums and palisander. Other vegetation zones are the savanna of Gran Chaco in the far North and pampas in the East, which is characterized by broad grasslands including eucalyptus woods and acacia plant. The flat South of Patagonia is shaded by the Andes. The area is relatively dry, sparse and mainly without any trees, but sometimes lined with some shrubs and herbs, which serve as food for plenty of sheep flocks. In the forelands of the Andes many coniferous forests can be found, the timberline is at 3500 m. In the northern highlands of the Andes there are some arid semi deserts where cactuses and thorn shrubs grow.
The blossom of Ceibos-tree is Argentina's national symbol.
Depending on the climate zone there is a large variety of animals. In the tropical areas monkeys, jaguars, pumas, coatis, anteaters and different reptiles can be observed. Birdwatchers can observe hummingbirds, tucans, parrots and very rare condors. In the pampas there are armadillos, deers and nandus. The highlands are inhabited by guanakos, vicunjas and llamas. The coastal areas of Patagonia are especially famous for its unique wildlife which is characterized by penguins, seals and sea bears, orcas and other whales.

Social Geography of Argentina

Need help with planning your trip?

We are happy to support you! Together we find the best adventure for you and prepare your trip abroad.

Known from …